Department of Microbiology

Department of Microbiology is functional since the inception of the college (July 1979). Started with undergraduate course, it now runs M.Sc. and Ph.D. programs in Microbiology (Affiliated to the University of Mumbai). APGDMLT course (affiliated to MSBTE) is also being conducted by the department. The department has three well equipped spacious laboratories with advanced instrumentation. Qualified faculty members with sound research background take keen interest in co-curricular activities of students apart from regular teaching -learning process.

The department also boasts of its strong alumni who are working at institutes/ organizations of national and international repute. Mr. Badal Patel stood first at M.Sc. Microbiology examination of University of Mumabi held in April, 2012. Ms. Vaishali Mane stood first in PET-2012, Microbiology Examination conducted by University of Mumbai. Department has so far organized five national seminars/ conferences, one refresher course and a workshop.

Present strength of F.Y. B.Sc., S.Y. B.Sc. and T. Y. B.Sc Microbiology is 120, 91 and 47 respectively. The intake of M.Sc. is 20. There are total 10 faculty members in the department out of which 3 are Ph.D., one is M.Phil. and four are Set/NET qualified. Two teachers have registered for Ph.D. Program.


Sr. No. Title of Activity Dates Funding Agency No. of Participants
1 National Workshop on Bioinformatics February 6-7, 2016 Indian Science Academies 51
2 National Seminar on Bio-prospecting Microorganisms of Marine Environment January 8, 2016 Alumni & Patrons 95
3 Vitek-2 & Phase-contrast Microscopy August 10-11, 2015, September 7-8,2015, December 11-12,2015 College 107
4 Training Workshop Basic Techniques in Hematology Hands-on Skill in blood biochemistry & analysis November 11 to 17, 2014 College 28
5 National Workshop on Proteomic technologies in bio-sciences August 25-26, 2014 LTMT [0.54 Lakh] 147
6 National conference on Microbiology Horizons in Biomedical Sciences September 27-28, 2013 UGC & Alumni [1.65 Lakh] 153
7 Refresher Course on Advances in Plant & Animal Biotechnology February, 3-16 2013 Indian Science Academies 25

Awards / Recognitions received by Faculty

Sr. No. Name of Faculty Awards/Recognitions Received
1 Dr. D.B.Thakare i.        Best teacher award by college (2014) ii.      Distinguished Best Researcher and Academicians award (2011) by International Society of Science and Technology of Mumbai
2 Dr. K.S.Shinde i.        First prize for poster presentation in National seminar held at C.K.T College, New Panvel 2013 ii.      Research guide for M.Sc. (Microbiology) 2014
3 Dr. S.S. Nayak       Research guide for Ph.D. (Microbiology):  2013
4 Dr. R. P. Ghorpade i.        Research guide for M.Sc. (Biotechnology): 2014 ii.      Research guide for Ph.D.(Microbiology): 2015
5 Mr. S.A Gharge       Research guide for M.Sc. (Microbiology) 2014
Click to view

Awards / Recognitions received by Students

Year Name of Student Class Award/ Recognition
2016-17 Ms. Kavita Jadhav Ph.D. Dr. S.K.Mahajan Memorial Fellowship of Rs. 50,000/- for promising Ph.D. research
2015-16 Ms. Krishna Paluri Ms. Tanvi Waman Mr. Ravikumar Yadav F.Y.B.Sc. 5th Rank at 15th State Level Microbiolympiad test at Shirpur (Dhule).
Ms. Shamal Mr. Chaitanya Khanvilkar Ms. Siddhi S.Y.B.Sc. 8th Rank at 15th State Level Microbiolympiad contest at Shirpur (Dhule).
Ms. Saloni Godbole M.Sc. II Best student award  adjudged by K.B.P. College, Vashi
2014-15 Ms. Shubhangi Gole Ms. Priyanka Naik Ms. Linsha T. Mr. Akshay Chougule M.Sc. II Research project selected at district level in Avishkar Research Convention by University of Mumbai
Ms. Smriti Pandey T.Y.B.Sc. Consolation prize at State Level Intercollegiate Elocution Competition held at Rayat Shikshan Sanstha.
Ms. Bhakti Babar Ms. Shreya Pisal Ms. Kiran Karpe F.Y.B.Sc. 1st,2nd & 3rd prize in poster competition at National Conference on Wetlands for Environmental Health held at S.D.College, Palghar
Ms. Deepmala Sharma M.Sc. Qualified in NET Examination
Ms. Nikita Diwan M.Sc. Qualified in PET Examination
2013-14 Mr. Rinal Rodrtigues Mr. Rajendra Loke Mr. Akshay Mahagade Mr. Amit Jadhav Mr. Krishna Anpat Mr. Kalpesh Solanki Mr. Atul Patil Mr. Santosh K. F.Y.B.Sc. Won the first prize in Science Exhibition held at Acharya-Marathe College, Mumbai & M. K. Agarwal College, Kalyan    
Ms. Kavita Jadha   M.Sc. PET, NET
Mr. Piyush Paltiwale M.Sc. GATE, NET
2012-13 Mr. Badal Bipin Patel         M.Sc. II Secured highest marks at M.Sc. examination of University of Mumbai, held in April 2012 and was awarded Dr. Dhala’s Felicitation Scholarship
Ms. Nivedita Ghorpade M.Sc. II Qualified GATE
2011-12 Ms. Kavita Jadhav Ms. Kiran Gupta Mr. Rizwan Shaikh M.Sc. II 2nd prize in Intercollegiate topic presentation competition, organized by Rotary Club of Navi Mumbai